ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List of All Time Year wise, History & Facts


ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List of all time year-wise. Captain List of ICC World Cup Winner, History & Facts. List of ICC Cricket World Cup Finals match. Which country or Team has the most ICC ODI Cricket World Cup Tournaments Winning Titles of all time.

England and Wales are going to host the 12th ICC World Cup Tournament in 2019. Five different teams have lifted the most prestigious cup of cricket tournament from the previous 11 events. Here we will discuss the ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List Teams along with many unknown facts of the event.

History of ICC ODI Cricket World Cup

The first match of the ICC World Cup Final was held on 21st June 1975 and was play Australia and West Indies. With the help of an excellent century innings by West Indies captain Clive Lloyd and 5 wickets lost by Australia as run outs, West Indies became the 1st ICC Cricket World Cup Champion in 1975.

West Indies won the 1st world cup by mere 17 runs against the mighty Australians and lifted the cup in Lords. Four years later, West Indies again became the champion by defeating England by 92 runs.

Earlier the one day matches used to have 60 over’s and the test matches used to have 6 days of play including a day off. Now it has been changed to 50 over a match and 5 days test matches.

You may also interested in:

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List Teams

West Indies became the first ICC World Cup Champion and lifted the cup twice consecutively. In the year of 1983 which is the third ICC World Cup tournament, West Indies were again going all guns blazing and reached the final. They were going to play against the underrated team of India. Everyone was quite sure about West Indies lifting the cup once again; however the team India has got a different plan.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List of All Time

They gave a tough competition to the mighty West Indies team and won the match in a close encounter. India has again lifted the cup in the year of 2011.

Lists of ICC ODI World Cup Winner (1975-2016)

Below is the complete detail of the ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List Teams along with the Winning Captains: –






1975West IndiesClive LlyodAustraliaWon by 17 Runs
1979West IndiesClive LlyodEnglandWon by 92 Runs
1983IndiaKapil DevWest IndiesWon by 43 Runs
1987AustraliaAllan BorderEnglandWon by 7 Runs
1992PakistanImran KhanEnglandWon by 22 Runs
1996Sri LankaArjuna RanatungaAustraliaWon by 7 Wickets
1999AustraliaSteve WaughPakistanWon by 8 Wickets
2003AustraliaRicky PontingIndiaWon by 125 Runs
2007AustraliaRicky PontingSri LankaWon by 53 Runs
2011IndiaM.S. DhoniSri LankaWon By 6 Wickets
2015AustraliaMichael ClarkeNew ZealandWon by 7 Wickets

So, you can easily see that team Australia is topping the chart with the most number of World Cup Final victories (7).

Countries with the most number of Titles and Year

Australia Cricket Team is the most successful team in ICC ODI Cricket World Cup Tournament, as they hold the winner’s title five times in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. India and West Indies have won world cup 2 times each. West Indies won initial two ICC Cricket World Cup in 1975 and 1979.

ICC ODI World Cup Most Winning Titles Team


Number of Titles

in which Year?

Australia51987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
India21983, 2011
West Indies21975, 1979
Sri Lanka11996

Prediction of 2019 ICC World Cup Winner

As per the experts, this year, team England is looking very strong contender to lift the 2019 ICC World Cup. They are hosting this year tournament and thus have got the home benefit and have also got the perfect balance in the team.

Check this also: ICC World Cup 2019 Schedule

New Zealand will also give a tough fight this year. It will be a difficult Prediction of 2019 ICC World Cup as both the team has got huge potentiality but has never succeeded to won the tournament in the last 11 years.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List of All Time Year wise, History & Facts
4.7 (93.33%) 3 vote[s]



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here